Members, Log In. Not a member? Sign Up

September 10, 2009

2009 Golden Ticket Award Winners Announced

Arlington, TX -- Amusement industry publication Amusement Today announced the 2009 winners of their "Golden Ticket Awards". The winners will receive their award at an awards' show to be held at LEGOLAND California tonight.

Golden Ticket Award 2009
Recipients of the 2009 Goldent Ticket Award will be recognized at an awards' show at LEGOLAND California tonight.

The Golden Ticket Awards are presented to the "Best of the Best" in the amusement industry and determined based on an international poll conducted by Amusement Today. Surveys are sent to a database of experienced and well-traveled amusement park fans asking them to rate the "bests" in 25 categories.

The highlights from this year's 2009 winners are:

Best Amusement Park — Cedar Point

Best Waterpark — Schlitterbahn New Braunfels

Best Children's Park — LEGOLAND California

Best Marine Life Park — SeaWorld Orlando

Best Seaside Park — Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Best Wooden Coaster — The Voyage at Holiday World

Best Steel Coaster — Bizarro at Six Flags New England

Best Water Ride — Dudley Do-Rights' Ripsaw Falls at Universal's Islands of Adventure

Best Waterpark Ride — Master Blaster at Schlitterbahn New Braunfels

Best Dark Ride — Amazing Adventures of Spiderman at Universal's Islands of Adventure

Best New Amusement Park Ride of 2009 — Prowler at Worlds of Fun

Best New Waterpark Ride of 2009 — Congo River Expedition at Schlitterbahn New Braunfels

With the exception of the "Best New Rides for 2009" categories, this year's awards were no different – a carbon copy of last year with the exception of entertainment and friendliest park. Entertainment this year went to Dollywood in Pigeon Forge, Tenn. and the friendliest park award was given to Silver Dollar City in Branson, replacing last year's winner Holiday World & Splashin' Safari which came in second place this year.

For a complete list of all the winners visit Amusement Today.

"Congratulations to all of the Golden Ticket Award winners and the finalists on their well-deserved honors," says Gary Slade, publisher and editor-in-chief of Amusement Today. "The competition is friendly, but the voting is becoming tighter every year."

Gary Slade editor of Amusement Today also selects three Publisher's Pick Awards in three categories – Park, Individual and Supplier. This year's winners are Wonderland Park in Amarillo for its dedication, drive and patience as a family-owned park.

Dick and Barbara Knoebel of Knoebels Amusement Resort in Elysburg, Pennsylvania were selected for the Individual award for their professional and personal passion, challenges and journeys.

Gary Goddard Entertainment in North Hollywood, California was selected for its creativity, innovation and excellence in thematics.

This year's awards includes a new Legends Series that will highlight and individual who has touched the industry in a unique way. The first honoree of this series is the late Jack Krantz of Adventureland Park in Des Moines, Iowa, for the incredible vision, enthusiasm and business sense he instilled throughout his venerable career.

Amusement Today newspaper has been covering the international amusement and water park news and trends for 13 years.

Talk About This Article

What did you think? Be the first to Add Your Comments