Members, Log In. Not a member? Sign Up

January 22, 2007

Six Flags To Rename and Renovate Northern California Theme Park

Vallejo, CA -- Six Flags announced they will rename and spend $16 million renovating their 140-acre Northern California theme park, Six Flags Marine World. The world's only combination wildlife, oceanarium and theme park will now be called Six Flags Discovery Kingdom and feature new shows and activities through the park.

When Six Flags reopens in March, guests will find attractions in three new areas called "Land", "Sea" and "Sky".

According to Six Flags, each area will offer something special for each guest, as the new Six Flags Discovery Kingdom is designed to foster both physical and emotional discovery in a dynamic, family-friendly environment.

"The name Six Flags Discovery Kingdom now reflects every aspect of what makes the park so unique," said Six Flags President and CEO Mark Shapiro. "Throughout its history, Marine World offered guests a truly distinctive theme park environment, and Six Flags Discovery Kingdom will build and improve on that great tradition."

"Only at Six Flags Discovery Kingdom can guests ride world-class coasters, feed giraffes, interact with dolphins and watch a killer whale glide through the water, all in one location," added Shapiro.

One of the biggest changes will be seen once guests enter Discovery Kingdom. The newly themed entry plaza will offer guests a glimpse of the adventure that awaits within the park. Six Flags plans to provide up-close encounters with some of the park's critters.

Inside the park, the new Explorers Outpost will serve as the starting point for exploring the park and the place to get information on the park's diverse attractions.

Six Flags says knowledgeable park ambassadors will be able to arrange animal interactive experiences such as Dolphin Discovery, Sea Lion Celebration, Sharks in the Dark, Sunset Safari and the new Trainer for a Day program. Six Flags new "Seafari Pass" will allow guests to feed dolphins, giraffes, sea lions, and lorikeet, as well as ride Tava the elephant and her friends.

Discovery Kingdom's new Land section will be where guests interact with live animals such as elephants, giraffes and regal jungle cats.

The Sea will feature the park's marine animal shows and creatures. A new killer whale with Shouka and a brand-new dolphin show will be offered. Both the Sea and Land will feature many themed children's rides to entertain the park's youngest guests.

The Sky section will feature the park's collection of high-adrenaline thrill rides and roller coasters. Guests will also be able to catch a show featuring the Justice League super heroes, including Batman and Robin.

The announced transformation of Marine World follows Six Flags previously announced sale of three of its water parks and two of its theme parks for $312 million. The changes to the Vallejo theme park are part of the company's overall strategy to make their theme parks more family friendly.

Six Flags also announced that they will extend the operating season of Discovery Kingdom into December with a new holiday promotion called "Holiday-in-the-Park." This has been a successful event at Six Flags Over Texas outside of Dallas and Six Flags plans to expand the promotion to include the Vallejo park.

Purchase Six Flags Tickets and Season Passes

For more information, see Six Flags Discovery Kingdom.

Talk About This Article

What did you think? Be the first to Add Your Comments