Members, Log In. Not a member? Sign Up

Ultimate Rollercoaster > Discussion Forums > Roller Coasters, Parks & Attractions > A Technical Query About Rollbacks

A Technical Query About Rollbacks

Posted: 7/9/10 at 1:40:24 PM
Views: 5310

For those of you who have have experienced a rollback, seen one, or simply know what you're talking about more than I do (isn't that everybody?)...If a rollback occurs on TTD or KK, after nearly reaching the top, it's obviously designed to roll safely back down to re-launch. But are there any brakes on the way back down the tower? Or does the train not get slowed until reaching the launch track,where there may be another train waiting to launch?

Mike, whose only rollback came on a ten-foot high junior Dragon Coaster last November...

Re: A Technical Query About Rollbacks by Shaggy Shaggy Profile at 7/9/10 2:46:33 PM

I've seen a rollback on TTD. I'm no expert, but this is how I visually understand the workings of TTD.

If the train does not crest the hill, and rolls back, then there are magnetic brakes on the launch track that slow it to a crawl. There are no brakes on the incline.

Before a train launches on TTD, it rolls out of the station and enters the launch zone where it adheres to the catch car mechanism on the steel launch cable. It cannot enter the launch zone until the sensors at the top of the track have indicated that the prior train has crested. As the train stops on the launch track, it is weighed and the internal computers calculate the torque needed to pull the steel cable fast enough to crest the train. During this time, the train is slightly rolling backward to lock it onto the catch car. At this point, there are magnetic brakes raised along the launch run that remain elevated until the cars computer processing is complete.