Members, Sign In. Not a member? Sign Up

Ultimate Rollercoaster

Ad

May 24, 2001

Holiday World Coasters to Appear on Discovery Channel

The RavenSanta Claus, IN -- On Memorial Day, The Discovery Channel will premiere two new television shows about the nation's best roller coasters, featuring The Raven and The Legend at Holiday World Theme Park.

"More Top 10 Coasters" will highlight the world's current top-ranked roller coasters. The Raven holds the top spot for wooden coasters.

"Having The Raven declared the very best wooden coaster in the world on national television is something we've dreamed about for years," says Holiday World & Splashin' Safari's president, Will Koch, who played a role in designing both The Raven and The Legend. "It's really something to have a family park in Southern Indiana beat out the giant corporate parks for the ĪNumber-One Wooden Coaster' title."

The LegendAlso premiering on Memorial Day, "Extreme Rides 2001" will include The Legend, the only wooden coaster ever designed with the help of roller coaster enthusiasts.

"We asked for input from the American Coaster Enthusiasts on our initial design, and we were flooded with recommendations," says Koch. "The resulting design was so outstanding that The Legend was the highest ranked new wooden coaster in 2000, making Holiday World the only park on the planet with two top-ten wooden coasters."

These two hour-long coaster specials are part of The Discovery Channel's "Thrills, Chills and Spills, " a three-hour programming block beginning at 8 pm ET (7 pm CT) on Monday, May 28. "More Top 10 Coasters" will premiere at 9 pm ET (8 pm CT) and "Extreme Rides 2001" will debut at 10 pm ET (9 pm CT). The shows will be repeated three hours later, and again on July 8. See the TV Show Guide on this site for more details.