Members, Sign In. Not a member? Sign Up

Ultimate Rollercoaster

Ultimate Rollercoaster > Discussion Forums > Roller Coasters, Parks & Attractions > defunct parks in Virginia, Maryland, and Gettysburg, PA

defunct parks in Virginia, Maryland, and Gettysburg, PA

tanner

Posted:
9/12/00 at
12:23:05 PM

This is my first time here, I'm looking for some info for some former amusement parks in the Washington-Baltimore, Roanoke, and Gettysburg areas.

I work at a radio station in the Eastern Panhandle of
West Virginia, cleaning out our basement I came across
an old commerical for an amusement park ( now defunct )
called Marshall Hall. It was located near Washington DC. The commerical ran on our station in 1975 ( thats what it said on the box), Inviting people to ride the boat to Marshall Hall. Ride their giant roller coaster and enjoy the many rides.

Does anybody remember this park? I have asked many of my co-workers about it but they get this place confused with Glen Echo ( another defunct Maryland park ). Was wondering how big this park was and what their coaster was like. Curious why and when this place closed.

There was also a park in the Roanoke area of Virginia
called Lakeside. I remember driving by this place back in March of 86. Looked like a nice sized park. The coaster looked cool. Went back there a few years later but Lakeside was already history. Anybody out there had a chance to visit this place and checked out their coaster before they closed?

Wonder why they closed. Roanoke isnt all the close to the other theme/ amusement parks in the area ( PKD, Camden Park, BGW, or Carowinds ), a lot of people do live in that area, one would think a park would do well down there.

Back in the 1970s Baltimore had a park on Route 40 not too far from their beltway ( I-895 ). It was more of a kiddie park, in fact I remember watching a kids show on
channel 45 ( Captian Chesapeake I think it was called ) and they did commericals for this place.