Members, Sign In. Not a member? Sign Up

Ultimate Rollercoaster > Discussion Forums > Roller Coasters, Parks & Attractions > It's Been Fun...To Say the Least

It's Been Fun...To Say the Least

beastmaster beastmaster Profile

Posted:
10/15/16 at
10:02:01 PM

I joined URC back in 2004-05 or so as a way to find more information about a relatively new thing in my life, my burgeoning interest in roller coasters and amusement parks. It was in the mid-late 80's that I began to get into amusement parks seriously, and for the next decade, I endeavored through books and other sources to explore what was out there. My amusement park universe to that point consisted of GrAdv, Dorney, The Jersey shore parks at Seaside and Wildwood...and a handful of others.

Around that previously mentioned '04-05 time frame, I discovered URC after my brother gave me my first computer. As as a pure newbie I had no idea wtf I was doing. I've never been much for the statistical or business part of the industry. When somebody asks me a question like, "Why do you like _____ over ____" or "why do you hate ___ so much,"my answers revolve around feels and vibes. I enjoy riding roller coasters...it's that simple. As I navigated my way through the early phases of my URC tenure, certain folks helped me out...people like JerseyJoe, Chillforce, MABrider and MommaBeast first come to mind.

I have made so many friends through this site it amazes me to think back....I'll name some, but the list will be cut short due to other circumstances to be revealed..keep reading. First, a very special friend who never posted on URC, whom I met with an assist from MABRider. Many others,some of which I have become Facebook friends and/or real life friends with, others I simply know from interactions with them here. Others I'really gotten to know well and have become major pieces in my life.