Members, Sign In. Not a member? Sign Up

Ultimate Rollercoaster

Ad
Ultimate Rollercoaster > Discussion Forums > Roller Coasters, Parks & Attractions > What Coaster Is This?

What Coaster Is This?

beastmaster beastmaster Profile

Posted:
2/11/13 at
9:36:36 AM

This article caught my eye this morning because of the roller coaster imagery. It's about the industries that have a lot of available jobs, and the amusement park industry tops the (okay, alphabetical) list.

Can anyone identify the pictured coaster? It's not a quiz...I'm not very good at ID'ing coasters based on a picture out of context. I might guess Ninja, but I have doubts.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/20-industries-record-numbers-jobs-203359671.html

* This post was modified at 2/11/13 11:52:55 AM *

The amusement park rises bold and stark
Kids are huddled on the beach in a mist...
Re: What Coaster Is This? by SirWillow SirWillow Profile at 2/11/13 11:18:08 AM
Of course what they don't tell you is that the majority of those "amusement industry" jobs are at or near minimum wage and so not a livable income, but that's a whole 'nother discussion. :)

It's an Arrow looper, based on the track, supports and design (and the pretzel loop/ sidewinder just to the bottom of the picture) I'm guessing that it's probably Great American Scream Machine at Great Adventure. It looks similar to this picture but at a slightly different angle:
http://rcdb.com/34.htm?p=1024 so that would be my guess.

Re: What Coaster Is This? by beastmaster beastmaster Profile at 2/11/13 11:31:00 AM
That was my first thought, George, but none of the background infra-structure looked familiar. And unless I've suddenly gone color-blind, the supports appear to be blue..ORGASM had white supports as shown in your RCDB linked pic.

And yeah, you're right about the jobs...covers everything from broom pushers to ride ops to cast members to caricaturists.

* This post was modified at 2/11/13 11:55:00 AM *